LTJ Honor Society Salutes “The Art of Elmer Lucille Allen, Sandra Charles and Barbara Tyson Mosley!”

In recognition of Black History Month, the LTJ Honor Society celebrates the announcement of “The Art of Elmer Lucille Allen, Sandra Charles and Barbara Tyson Mosley.” This special five-part cultural arts series is an experience that you will not want to miss, beginning February 22nd thru April 20th – all taking place at the Carnegie Center for Arts & History, 201 East Spring Street, New Albany, Indiana 47150, in the Historic Carnegie Library Building.

Friday, February 22nd:

  • Members-Only Artists & Curator Talk – 5:30pm
  • Public Opening Reception – 6:00pm to 8:00pm

Saturday, February 23rd:

  • Gallery Storytime at the Carnegie – 10:30am

Tuesday, February 26th:

  • Oh Freedom! Concert by the KY Opera – 6:00pm to 8:00pm

A special concert and cultural journey through the history of African Americans from pre-slavery to modern times using song and music, performed by members of Kentucky Opera.

Wednesday, February 27th:

  • Eva Kor: A Context for Forgiveness – 1:00pm to 2:30pm

Film screening of the documentary The Story of Eva, followed by a facilitated discussion by Fred Whittaker.

Tuesday, March 19th:

  • Lunch & Learn with Elmer Lucille Allen – 12:00pm to 1:00pm

Free to the public, but registration requested.

Contact Delesha Thomas at (812) 944-7336 or email to register.

The LTJ Honor Society’s mission is the advancement of the Lyman T. Johnson Distinguished Leadership Award program.

The LTJ Honor Society members are:
Lizzie G. Miller – 1991
Willie Gray – 1992*
Milton R. Dohoney, Jr. – 1993
The Rev. Lincoln N. Bingham – 1994
Helen D. Bennett – 1995
Phillip D. Bond – 1996
Mary Green – 1997
Frank Clay – 1998 (posthumous)*
Ella Letitia Smith Roberts – 1999*
Suzanne “Suzy” Post – 2000*
William E. “Bill” Summers, IV – 2001
Wade and Alice Houston – 2002
The Rev. C. Mackey Daniels – 2003*
The Honorable Georgia Davis Powers – 2004*
The Rev. Louis H. Coleman, Jr. – 2005*
Ulysses “Junior” Bridgeman – 2006
The Rev. Dr. Kevin W. Cosby – 2007
Dr. Terry L. Singer – 2008
Dawne Gee – 2009
Sandra Frazier – 2010
Elaine “Cissy” Musselman – 2011
George and June Merrifield – 2012*
Adolfo “Ben” Ruiz – 2013
Teresa and Frank Bridgewaters – 2014
Dr. Wayne Tuckson – 2015
Dr. Patricia A. Murrell – 2016
Elmer Lucille Allen – 2017
* Denotes deceased